Author’s note

Before I thank anyone, I like to thank the original author of Ponniyin Selvan, “Mr. Kalki” for presenting such a masterpiece to the readers. Both the story and his writing inspired me and intrigued me. Every time I read Ponniyin Selvan, I pictured and imagined it in a different way. 

Finally, I decided to translate it and precise it to increase the reader base. I thought that this historical novel should reach more and more readers apart from Tamil people and I hope I succeeded in what I wanted to do. 

Thanks for all my readers and my followers who kept on encouraging me till the end. I had a few readers who read and gave feedback continuously. Their interest in reading the precise version of Ponniyin Selvan motivated me to give my best.

A big thanks to the proofreaders who helped me all the way through the novel and supported me till the end. With your help in proofreading my work, I am able to rectify a few mistakes and learn a lot all through this journey. Still, there are some chapters that were posted unedited because of lack of time and I hope to correct all those chapters as soon as possible.

I really feel happy and content on successfully completing Ponniyin Selvan. My experience with Ponniyin Selvan for the last eight months has been too great and very helpful. I practised writing and I have improved a lot. 

I hope my writing has satisfied you. If at all you felt any discomfort reading my work, I feel sorry and I am always open to constructive criticisms. Awaiting all your feedback. 

Many might have been disappointed with the sudden ending of Ponniyin Slevan. Many might have expected a happy ending or something more apart from what I have provided. But, this is the way a historical novel can be finished. It is the same way ‘Author Kalki’ finished Ponniyin Slevan. He has also explained the reason behind finishing Ponniyin Selvan abruptly. As I have taken up the job of translating and preciseing his work, I am also equally responsible to give the explanation to my readers for an abrupt climax.

During those days, it has been a tradition for the Kings and the Princes to keep on fighting with each other to retain power. In that case, Prince Arulmozhivarmar did something different. The entire people of the Chola kingdom desperately wanted Arulmozhivarmar to be their King. Even his family members, Chieftains and ministers thought the same. 

But Prince Arulmozhivarmar sacrificed the kingdom and abdicated it to Uthama Cholar, who had more right to the throne according to him. The whole essence of Ponniyin Slevan is about the genuinity of Arulmozhivarmar as he sacrificed a big kingdom. 

Even though I have an explanation for an abrupt climax, many might still feel disappointed. The original author gives two explanations for ending it this way.

  1. As it was said already, the main concept of Ponniyin Slevan is about the sacrifice made by Prince Arulmozhivarmar. So, after that incident, it will be inappropriate to drag the story. Had I done that, it might not have been interesting. 
  2. Generally, there is a great difference between writing novels and historical novels. Some fictional stories can be written and ended in a way which we like, but that is not possible with historical novels which revolves around true facts.

In historical novels, except the people who were dead, all others are destined to do many more good deeds in the future. They might look bad in this story, but in the future, they might change and work for the prosperity of the Chola kingdom. So, it will be not right to come to a conclusion about all the characters based on the incidents that happened around a few months time.

So, it is appropriate to leave the characters as they are during the ending period of this story. Still, there might be some disappointment amidst the readers and so I want to satisfy them as much as I can. 

I hereby enclose several questions posted to author Kali and the answers given by him for the questions. 

  1. Did Vanthiyathevan marry Princess Kundavai?

Yes! After experiencing a few more hurdles, Kundavai and Vanthiyathevan get married and lead a happy and respectable life in the Chola kingdom.

  1. What happened to Kalanthagar, the younger Lord of Paluvur?

He escapes death and reaches Tanjore after facing too many problems. He serves the Chola kingdom for a few more years.

  1. What happened to Nambi?

He continues to spy on the well-wishers of the Pandiya kingdom and Nandhini.

  1. What happened to the sea Voyage of Ponniyin Slevar?

Ponniyin Selvar and Vanthiyathevan assemble a big troop and go on a voyage. They succeed in destroying the pirates in the sea and make the voyage peaceful. Prince Arulmozhivarmar extends the Chola territory overseas too.

Uthama Cholar reigns the kingdom for 15 years and after his death, Ponniyin Selvar inherits the throne. He is celebrated as Raja Raja Cholar in the future.

  1. What happened to old Mathuranthagar and Kalaanthagar’s daughter?

Old Mathuranthagar tries to get the Pandiya kingdom back with the help of the Chera and the Lanka king. He succeeds initially, but then he encounters Ponniyin Slevar in the battlefront and dies fighting him.

  1. What happened to the small boy who was crowned as the Pandiya king by Nandhini?

He tries hard to regain the Pandiya kingdom from the clutches of the Cholas, but fails every time he tries. Finally, he dies fighting Ranjendra Cholar, the son of Prince Arulmozhivarmar.

  1. What happened to Nandhini?

Nandhini kills herself after old Mathuranthagar dies in the battlefield. Before her death, Prince Arulmozhivarmar meets her. Nandhini reveals the mystery behind Adhitya’s murder and the secret behind her birth.

  1. Did the prediction of Kudanthai astrologer turn true about Vanathi and his son?

Yes! His predictions did turn true. Vanathi’s son, Ranjendra Cholar becomes the King of Kings and rules from Ganges to Kadaaram. But, Vanathi sticks to her vow and refuses to sit on the throne. Ponniyin Slevar marries another girl named Ulagamadevi who adorns the throne of the Chola kingdom. 

  1. What did the well-wishers of the Pandiya king do?

They continue to hatch conspiracies to get the Pandiya kingdom back. Adhitya’s murder was not enquired until Nandhini was alive because Prince Arulmizvarmar didn’t want Nandhini’s name to be dragged all along the enquiry. So, after her death, the enquiry commission was set up and the mystery was solved. Ravidhasan and all his men were captured and punished accordingly.

There are a few more details about several other characters.

  1. Sundara Cholar stays in the golden palace at Kanchi for three more years and dies. Vanama Devi kills herself by falling into the funeral pyre of her husband.
  2. Parthibenthran is outraged by Kundavai’s rejection and tries to build an independent Pallava kingdom in Kanchi but fails miserably.
  3. Kandhamaaran builds a new palace along the river Palar and serves the Chola kingdom loyally for years together.

All these details were given to the readers only for their satisfaction. To be honest, all these details are a basis for a bigger historical fiction that might unfold in the future. 

After Uthama Cholar, Ponniyin Selvar, Ranjendra Cholar, Rajathirajan, Veera Rajendran, Kulothunga Cholar and many more inherited the throne and reigned well. Many incidents during their lifetime give way for another historical novel just like Ponniyn Slevan. 

Once again, thank you everyone for your support and for journeying with me until the end of Ponniyin Slevan. It has been a great experience by interacting with scores of people through my writing. I miss you all terribly. 

Meet you all soon with some other fictional story. 

Thanks again. 

Published by Nitharsh

Welcome to Nitharshana's blog of stories. Are you crazy about stories? Then, you have come to the right place. Stories are something everyone must have heard during our childhood days. I feel fortunate enough to have taken up writing as my passion and I assure you that I will give my best and make your time more valuable. You can relax, dream, enjoy, experience, and live a new life through my writing. Once again, I welcome you all to my blog. Have a great time reading my write ups. Thank you

2 thoughts on “Author’s note

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started